Palin Favors Banning Books

I ran across a reference to this, and I can’t believe it’s not getting more press. According to a recent article in TIME magazine, GOP VP candidate and all around ignorant hayseed Sarah Palin not only favors the banning of controversial books from libraries, but actually attempted on one occasion to fire a librarian in Alaska who had the temerity to stand up to this Nazi cow and defend the 1st Amendment.

Stein says that as mayor, Palin continued to inject religious beliefs into her policy at times. “She asked the library how she could go about banning books,” he says, because some voters thought they had inappropriate language in them. “The librarian was aghast.” That woman, Mary Ellen Baker, couldn’t be reached for comment, but news reports from the time show that Palin had threatened to fire Baker for not giving “full support” to the mayor.

No matter if you believe in fiscal conservatism, libertarianism, or are like me a godless ivory-tower liberal, I would kindly suggest that you might want to think twice before electing someone as Vice-President of the United States of America who actively favors banning books that don’t conform with her own personal religious views. Someone who is willing – eager – to abuse her public office to enforce her totalitarian and Dominionist agenda. Someone who would become President if John McCain is elected, has a fifth cancer, and dies. Are you frightened yet?

~ by Planetologist on September 11, 2008.

5 Responses to “Palin Favors Banning Books”

  1. Misterpost, welcome and thanks for commenting! Barberofcivility, welcome and thank you very much for the link! I love factcheck.org for this very reason. And I’ll definitely go check out your blog… but first I have to go teach some geology majors about planetary nebulae. So far they don’t hate me, but the first exam has yet to occur….

    In any event, I’ll be glad if this story turns out to be much ado about nothing. Banning books is a pretty serious defect in a candidate, as far as I’m concerned. Hopefully it never happened, but it seems that even the attempt would be very telling. Did she just inquire about what the procedures would be if she wanted to ban some books? Well, why? Perhaps she was told it would be hard to do, it would be a media nightmare if she tried it, so she just gave up the idea and went on to the next problem. And yet… that still seems to suggest she’s basically okay with the idea of removing ‘questionable’ books from libraries, that she’s willing to do it if there were an easy way. That’s still pretty disturbing. If she tried and failed to ban books, if she even thought it was a good idea but impractical, I’m still scared. That would mean her policy position is monstrously at odds with the Constitution. Would she rule the country from such a position?

  2. Welcome to the blogosphere!
    I found her stance on banning books wildly objectionable also, and instantly disqualified her as VP/Presidential material on those grounds alone.
    Then I thought, well that wasn’t very skeptical of me, and made sure to listen extra hard when she answered that question in the Charles Gibson interview the other night.

    Oddly, when she denied being interested in banning books, I believed her.

    Of course she said enough other insane things that we can be sure I will not be voting Republican this year.

  3. BTW, I want to comment on your TAM post, welcoming you to the community of bloggers. How do I do that? I see no link for it on that page.

    Also BTW, I am Phil Plait’s older brother, and have my own blog over at blog.plaitsolutions.com. One thing I love about blogging is that I can write about anything I want, even if it has nothing to do with my blog’s main theme. And I do that, sometimes.

  4. You may want to reconsider this post. There is little, if any, proof that Palin wanted to ban books. You can look this up at http://www.factcheck.org/elections-2008/sliming_palin.html. If you scroll on down to the writeup, as opposed to the summaries at the top, you will find there is no proof whatsoever that Palin asked to ban books, and that the books in the list weren’t even published at the time.

    Factcheck.org is a reputable institution, whereas Time magazine is a publication that can run articles without checking their facts. I have not read the article, but if it states that Palin wished to ban books, it is incorrect.

    Having said all that, I wouldn’t vote for the lady if she were running for something in my local district, including dogcatcher. She favors the NRA, is against women’s choice, and is on the opposite side from me on almost anything she discusses. She does not have enough experience to run for the office she is on the ballot for. Even if I were predisposed to vote for the Republicans in this election (I am not), I would be seriously thinking about changing my vote.

  5. “Someone who would become President if John McCain is elected, has a fifth cancer, and dies. Are you frightened yet?”

    Actually, I seem to recall she said that in the case of her accession to the throne, she’d pick a highly-qualified vice president and then step aside. Who’s most qualified to be VP in her camp? Can you say “Hello President Cheney”?

Leave a Reply

 
