What’s wrong with this picture?

First, watch. Then we’ll discuss.

Okay, pop quiz. What’s wrong with that video?

What’s wrong is not that Kay Hagan had to defend herself against a cowardly attack ad from the Senior Harpy from North Carolina, Elizabeth Dole. Senator Dole personally approved (don’t you love that you can legally say that?) an attack ad that called her opponent “godless”, that accused her opponent of consorting with demons… oh, sorry… I meant to say atheists, and which faked her opponent’s voice shrieking “there is no god!” like a crazy cat lady.

No, what’s wrong with this despicable video is what Hagan doesn’t say. Here is what she should have said.

“I am a Christian, so Elizabeth Dole is wrong, as well as a liar. She is so desperate she is willing to fake my voice in a commercial. But do you know what? It doesn’t matter. I am a Christian, and proudly so, but let me be clear. The Constitution of the United States of America guarantees no religious test shall ever be required as a qualification to any office or public trust. Those are the words of our Founding Fathers. Those words are good enough for me… why aren’t they good enough for Elizabeth Dole?

“I am a true American. I support the Constitution of the United States of America. Apparently, Elizabeth Dole does not. Elizabeth Dole is willing to spit on the core values that founded your great nation, just to get elected. What else is she capable of?”

Maybe I’ve been listening to Matt Dillahunty too much, but this really bothers me. Kagan defends herself by buying into Dole’s filth, and accepts the title of “godless” as a slur, without question. I know this is North Carolina we’re talking about. I’ve lived in North Carolina. Outside the Research Triangle the entire state is a sick, fetid pool of christophiles and xenophobes. I don’t care.

What Dole did is just as disgusting a treachery against her country in North Carolina as it is in the other 49 states. Dole premises her attack on an accusation that her opponent might not want the US to become a theocracy. Neither do I. More importantly, neither does the US Constitution. And Kagan should not be too spineless to say so.

~ by Planetologist on November 1, 2008.

4 Responses to “What’s wrong with this picture?”

  1. Well, I agree that my vast, Luthorian intellect has many uses…

    This kind of thing might be below your radar, and below many people’s radars. That’s fine. But it matters to me when people try to twist the Constitution out of shape. It’s as bad as any other instance where a candidate uses an ad hominem or straw man attack to smear an opponent. But my objection here is to the idea that the term atheist should be seen as pejorative in the first place. A lot of people think being an atheist is the same as being a demon worshiper because they’ve been programmed into thinking that by their parents, by their preachers, and by a cynical GOP who wants to keep the servants in line.

    Personally, I’m tired of it. I’m tired of people getting away with the kinds of lies and innuendo Dole tried to push. Happily, it got her fired. But most North Carolinians – most Americans – still think of atheists as pure evil, just because we reject their delusions. To you that may not be a hot-button issue, and that’s fair. But it is to me, and this is my blog. So there.

    😉

  2. I think you’re missing the point man. I’ve been reading your site for since I first saw it on Phil’s blog. I get that your an atheist- I can respect that. But please, don’t whine about piddly shit like this. To a majority of her constituents, this *IS* a slur. You need to grok that before we can move on. got it?

    Ok, now If I called you a stupid closet Christian in front of your atheist friends, wouldn’t you deny it, and feel outraged that I did so? I’m sure there’d be some self-important schmuck out there blasting you for treating the tag of Christianity as a slur.

    When it comes down to it, people are different. Do I get mad when people use Geek as a slur, because I’m a Geek? No, you know why? Because in their stupid, self-important little bubble they think knowing how to use a computer is a bad thing. They’re idiots- but I don’t whine about it.

    But what-the-frak-ever, I don’t care. I got more important things to do.

    You should, too- Is that really all you got going on for you? Feeling outraged that some random group of people think that your way of life is wrong-headed? And that someone trying to represent that group of mouth breathers agrees with them?

    dude, chill. You got better uses your your noggin.

  3. No apology necessary, Stego. I hear you, and can’t really argue too much. It’s true that the political reality makes it necessary to go along with the crazy majority, sometimes. It’s true, Kagan has to play the game to get elected, especially in a backwards state like NC.

    I just wish she would take a moment to point out that Christianity isn’t actually a requirement for office here in America. It’s not a hard case to make, or shouldn’t be… just point out to the Baptists that you won’t let the Methodists take charge, and you point out to the Methodists that you won’t let the Baptists run everything, and you point out to both that the atheists can’t ban their churches from existing.

    Rights have a way of fading away if they’re not used or defended. I think the “no religious test” thing is an important right that protects the minority from the tyranny of the majority. If the religious right don’t get that, they’re un-American. I want more Democrats to stand up and not be ashamed to say that.

  4. I agree. As an atheist, I found her defense unpalatable as well. However, given the beliefs of their constituents I don’t think launching herself into a defense of free thought and atheism would have gotten her very far.

    I’m not saying I approve or that things are as they should be, just that I can see expediency of her defense. Not many people have the ability to change other people’s mind through reasoned arguments; but sadder by far, and really the root cause of the problem, is the fact that so few listeners are willing to entertain reasoned arguments at all.

    What worries me is that I don’t think the death of religion will signal a wave of rational thinking. I live in the South, so Christian belief here is the norm, but looking around at more diverse areas of the country and world I see widespread superstition and woo. I sometimes privately hope for a gradual liberalization of Christianity that gives those that feel the need to believe something harmless to occupy their time but that harmonizes enough with reality so that we don’t have such problems with intolerance and superstition. Maybe the feel good mega church / gym / coffee house / rec center complexes will eventually provide this service.

    I think that’s why Sagan and Randi are headed in slightly more productive direction that Dawkins, PZ, and Dillahunty. I’m a big fan boy of all three and I think virtually all forces pushing back against religion are good, but my money is on reason tinged with tolerance for the win.

    Sorry for the rambling response.

Leave a Reply

 
